Cult of Luna - Salvation [2004]

Cult of Luna are a Swedish Sludge band formed in 1998 in Umeå, Sweden by guitarist Johannes Persson and vocalist Klas Rydberg. They had new ideas on how to explore and develop their music. After some member hunting and rehearsals CoL had its first line-up consisting of: Klas Rydberg, Johannes Persson, Magnus Lindberg, Erik Olofsson and Fredrik Renstrom. After a short period of time, Fredrik had to leave due to some personal difficulties.

When practice started to pay off, CoL recorded a two-track demo in January 1999. After some more rehearsals, the band felt that to fully live out their dream of sound experimenting, an additional member was needed to handle the electronics. Since Magnus had both knowledge and equipment, he was an obvious choice. Given that Magnus had handled the drums earlier they needed a new drummer, who they found in the mutual friend Marco Hilden. A new bass player was also found, named Axel Stattin. Another mutual friend helped CoL release their first record. Tim Bertilsson, head of Trust No One Recordings released a 7” split vinyl with his own band Switchblade.

(from Last.fm)

Great Atmospheric Sludge in the vein of Isis and Neurosis.

Cult of Luna - Salvation

(Earache Records / 2004 / Atmospheric Sludge / 224 kbps)

1. Echoes 12:30
2. Vague Illusions 10:14
3. Leave Me Here 7:15
4. Waiting for You 10:47
5. Adrift 7:19
6. White Cell 5:40
7. Crossing Over 8:32
8. Into the Beyond 11:26

Buy | Mediafire | Myspace

1 Kommentar: